MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Saturday, October 30, 2010

Zaid takes early lead in PKR polls

KUALA LUMPUR — Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has taken a lead with 577 votes for the deputy presidency on day one of the party’s direct election.

PKR official results from yesterday showed Zaid controlled six out of nine divisions but vice-preside Azmin Ali is catching up with 374 votes while another vice-president, Mustaffa Kamil Ayub, is flailing at 61 votes.

In the vice-presidential race, Lembah Pantai MP Nurul Izzah Anwar surged ahead in the pack of 17 with 494 votes.

Trailing close are PKR elections director Fuziah Salleh (467), Penang Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Dr Mansor Othman (462) and strategic director Chua Tian Chang (430).

“There are a few candidates who received almost the same number of votes as them,” said one of the leaders contacted by The Malaysian Insider tonight.

27 divisions will hold polls today: Seven in Pahang, six in Negeri Sembilan, five in Kelantan, two in Kedah, three in Perlis and nine in Perak.

The remaining divisions will be having the elections tomorrow and the following day, which will change the scenario and up the competition for the positions being contested.

Things are tight for the PKR Youth chief contest, incumbent Shamsuk Iskandar Mohd Akin received 136 votes, just nine ahead of challenger Badrul Hisham Shaharin or better known as “Chegubard” who took 127 votes.

Wanita chief Zuraida Kamaruddin is looking good in to keep her post registering 178 votes, against Suraya Sudin (98) and Animah Ferrar (32).

President Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail will be retaining her position without any challengers.

Bernama had reported that PKR Kedah Deputy President Wan Salleh Wan Isa said that for the Langkawi division, Azmin received 116 votes for the deputy president position while Zaid with only 74 votes, followed by Mustaffa with three votes, 13 are spoilt votes.

For the vice president positions, Fuziah is leading with 129 votes, Chua (104), Mansor (73), Nurul Izzah (66) and the Padang Serai MP N. Gobalakrishnan (44).

“Out of the total of 17 candidates, two of them have less than 10 votes while six others did not receive any votes,” he said.

He added that he is still waiting for the results from four other divisions. Malaysian Insider

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.