MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Saturday, November 18, 2023

MACC opens ops room to monitor Kemaman by-election


Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar of PAS and retired general Raja Affandi Raja Noor (Barisan Nasional) on their way this morning to filing their papers for the by-election.

PETALING JAYA: The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission has opened an operations room in Kemaman, Terengganu, to receive information and complaints from the public regarding corrupt acts and misuse of power during the Kemaman parliamentary by-election campaign which began today.

MACC said in a statement today that the operations room will operate around the clock from today until polling day on Dec 2. It is located at the MACC’s Kemaman branch, at the federal building in Gong Limau.

Complaints can be made in person; by post to P.O. Box 6000, 24000 Kemaman, Terengganu; via email to aduan.prk.terengganu@sprm.gov.my; or by phone at 09-8502080.

It also reminded all political parties and candidates to avoid activities that were contrary to the law and election rules in line with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission Act and the Election Offences Act.

The Kemaman by-election was called following an election court decision last month to nullify the result of the parliamentary election in November last year. The court held that the distribution of government aid in the constituency during the election campaign amounted to election bribery.

PAS candidate Che Alias Hamid had won with a majority of 27,179 votes over his closest rival, Terengganu Umno chairman and former menteri besar Ahmad Said and two other candidates, Hasuni Sudin of Pakatan Harapan and Rosli Ab Ghani of Pejuang.

Campaigning for the current by-election began today with the nominations of PAS vice-president Ahmad Samsuri Mokhtar, who is Terengganu menteri besar, and former chief of defence forces, retired general Raja Affandi Raja Noor, for Barisan Nasional.

Polling takes place on Dec 2. There are about 142,000 registered voters in the Kemaman constituency. Candidates from Umno have been returned in 11 elections since 1959, with a PKR candidate winning the seat for one term in 2004, and PAS in 2018.  - FMT

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.