MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Woman charged for tweeting 'obscene' vulva images supporting pad brand


A woman investigated for her tweets in support of a feminine hygiene products brand has claimed trial to a charge of improper use of network facilities by uploading pornographic pictures on her Twitter account.

Bernama reported that Amira Nur Afiqah Agus Salim, 25, an operator at a hotel company, pleaded not guilty before judge Norhasniah Abdul Razak at the Kuala Lumpur Sessions Court today.

The woman, who has a child, was charged with knowingly making and initiating the transmission of obscene communication, namely pornographic pictures, with the intention of offending others through the Twitter account ‘@amiranafqh’ at 7.27 pm on Sept 19, 2021.

The posting that featured images of a woman’s vulva in comparison to a flower design used in a Libresse advertisement in Sept last year was reportedly seen at a premise at Sri Tioman 2, Jalan Melati here, at 7.58 pm, on Sept 19.

She was charged under Section 233 (1) (a) of the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998, which is punishable under Section 233 (3) of the same act and provides a maximum fine of RM50,000 or imprisonment for up to one year or both, if found guilty, and a further fine of RM1,000 for each day the offence is continued after conviction.

The court, in allowing her bail of RM3,000 with one surety, and ordering her to report herself at the nearest police station once a month, set Aug 9 for mention.

Last week, Amira launched an online fundraiser as it was initially expected that her bail amount would be set at between RM8,000 to RM15,000.

Prosecuting officer from the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission, Nur Nazhzilah Mohamad Hashim prosecuted, while lawyer Adly Zulfadhly Zulkefly represented Amira. - Mkini

Environmentalist: Speak up more to protect our forests


Environmental and forestry researcher Teckwyn Lim urged the public to speak up and put pressure on politicians to ensure the protection of forests.

Lim was speaking at the Malaysian Nature Society (MNS) headquarters today at a forum regarding the status of forest reserves in Selangor.

The forum aimed to highlight the legal aspects of ongoing deforestation in Selangor compared to the ecological perspective.

Lim highlighted the recent case of the Kuala Langat Utara Forest Reserve, which Selangor Menteri Besar Amirudin Shari has promised to re-gazette before Hari Raya Aidilfitri.

“Amirudin had recently promised that the area would be gazetted back as a forest reserve, but it hasn’t happened yet,” said Lim today.

Another case he highlighted was the case in Bukit Cerakah, where 400 hectares of the forest reserve had been excised on May 5, 2022, without any public inquiry.

“This goes against the law previously set by the Selangor state government in 2011 as it was ruled that there would have to be a public inquiry to take land out of forest reserves.

“Is this even legal?” questioned Lim when speaking at MNS today.

Teckwyn Lim

Lim, who is also part of the Shah Alam Community Forest Society, added that various endangered species had been spotted at Bukit Cerakah last year.

“From the camera-trapping exercise that we (Shah Alam Community Forest Society) did last year, we managed to spot many endangered species such as tapirs, hornbills, and gibbons.

“It’s mind-boggling why the state government wants to destroy this forest,” said Lim today.

Lim said the least the people could do is continue to speak up and pressure politicians to protect the forests so that excisions are reduced and reservations are increased.

Lim suggested two additional solutions to tackle the issue of excessive deforestation, which included tightening up the laws and an ecological and physical transfer.

MNS president Prof Ahmad Ismail also added that they were not against politicians but they are the ones who decide on policy in the country.

“We are not against politicians, but they are the ones who make the decisions.

“When the media highlights the issue, the politicians get the attention, which leads to them liaising with the community, and then making the decision,” stated Ahmad. - Mkini

DAP predicts the general election will be held next year


The DAP predicts that the 15th general election will be held next year, not this year.

Party secretary-general Anthony Loke said the window of opportunity for the government now was quite limited.

Therefore, it is very unlikely that the government would hold the elections soon as it was still addressing the inflation issue, which would take a couple of months.

"The next window of opportunity will be after tabling the 2023 Budget, but it is also unlikely the general election would be held towards the year-end due to the monsoon season," Loke told senior editors during a Concorde Club meeting in Kuala Lumpur today.

Loke said it was also very likely the general election could take place after next year's Hari Raya Puasa (in April) or perhaps sooner.

The present term of Parliament will expire in July next year.

On the use of a common logo for the opposition coalition contesting in the next general election, Loke said no final decision had been made on the matter and he hoped it would be finalised by next month.

- Bernama