MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Monday, August 30, 2021

Ministers, deputies sworn in before Agong


A total of 30 cabinet ministers and 37 deputy ministers were sworn in before Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah at Istana Negara, Kuala Lumpur today.

Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah was in attendance.

The new cabinet line-up under Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob’s administration comprising 31 ministers including four senior ministers and 38 deputy ministers was announced last Friday.

Two of them were unable to attend the swearing-in ceremony today, namely Noh Omar (entrepreneur development and cooperatives minister) as he had been a close contact of a Covid-19 patient, and Mohamad Alamin (deputy education minister II) who was tested positive for Covid-19.

Ismail Sabri was also unable to attend the ceremony as he had to undergo self-quarantine for having been a close contact of a Covid-19 patient.

The ceremony, held in the Throne Room, began at 2.30pm with the oath-taking, followed by the signing of the appointment letters which was witnessed by Chief Justice Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat and Chief Secretary to the Government Mohd Zuki Ali.

The ministers were divided into five groups while the deputy ministers, into six groups, in taking their oath of office before the king.

The first group of seven ministers comprised four senior ministers - Azmin Ali (international trade and industry minister), Hishammuddin Hussein (defence minister), Fadillah Yusof (works minister) and Senator Mohd Radzi Jidin (education minister).

The three others in the first group were Finance Minister Senator Tengku Zafrul Tengku Aziz, Minister of Transport Minister Wee Ka Siong and Human Resources Minister M Saravanan.

Second Group:

  1. Maximus Johnity Ongkili - minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah and Sarawak affairs)

  2. Ronald Kiandee - agriculture and food industries minister

  3. Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man - environment and water minister

  4. Hamzah Zainudin - home minister

  5. Alexander Nanta Linggi - domestic trade and consumer affairs minister

  6. Takiyuddin Hassan - energy and natural resources minister

  7. Noraini Ahmad - higher education minister

Third Group:

  1. Rina Mohd Harun - women, family and community development minister

  2. Annuar Musa - communications and multimedia minister

  3. Reezal Merican Naina Merican - housing and local government minister

  4. Khairy Jamaluddin - health minister

  5. Halimah Mohamed Sadique - national unity minister

  6. Dr Adham Baba - science, technology and innovation minister

  7. Mustapa Mohamed - minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (economy)

Fourth Group:

  1. Saifuddin Abdullah - foreign minister

  2. Zuraida Kamaruddin - plantation industries and commodities minister

  3. Abdul Latiff Ahmad - minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (special functions)

  4. Wan Junaidi Jaafar - minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (parliament and law)

  5. Nancy Shukri - tourism, arts and culture

Fifth Group:

  1. Mahdzir Khalid - rural development minister

  2. Shahidan Kassim - federal territories minister

  3. Ahmad Faizal Azumu - youth and sports minister

  4. Senator Idris Ahmad - minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (religious affairs)

The ceremony then proceeded with the swearing-in of 37 deputy ministers and concluded with their photo session with both Al-Sultan Abdullah and Tunku Azizah.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.