MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Thursday, March 4, 2021

Johor allows Friday, obligatory prayers in eight districts


Johor will allow Friday and obligatory prayers to be conducted in congregations at one-third of the capacity of mosques and suraus in eight districts beginning tomorrow, in line with the implementation of the conditional movement control order (CMCO).

State Islamic Religious Affairs Committee chairperson Tosrin Jarvanthi in a statement today said the eight districts were Muar, Batu Pahat, Segamat, Kluang, Pontian, Kota Tinggi, Mersing and Tangkak.

He said in Johor Bahru and Kulai, however, only a maximum of 100 people were allowed for the congregational prayers from tomorrow, as the two districts were still considered as Covid-19 red zones.

The number of congregation members does not include committee members and mosque and surau officers.

According to Tosrin, the permission to allow more members of the congregation was given after obtaining the consent of Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar this morning.

He said religious lectures in mosques and suraus were allowed, and should be carried out by preachers and takmir teachers from within the district only.

"The mosque and surau committee must always be responsible for ensuring that all standard operating procedures of the National Security Council, Ministry of Health and Johor Islamic Religious Department are fully complied with," he said.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.