MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Sunday, May 2, 2021

Chin Tong's team sweeps portfolios at Johor DAP polls, Hong Pin ousted


Johor DAP chief Liew Chin Tong retained his position at the state party elections today, which saw his team winning 10 of the 15 committee seats and then sweeping the leadership portfolios.

Meanwhile, his challenger, Skudai assemblyperson Tan Hong Pin, failed to make the cut after coming in just short in the 16th position. Tan had denied plotting against Liew.

Liew came in third place in the party polls, while Bakri MP Yeo Bee Yin secured the most votes.

Another of Liew's rivals - Dr Boo Cheng Hau - was also re-elected to the state committee.

The elected Johor DAP committee members are:

  1. Yeo Bee Yin
  2. Teo Nie Ching
  3. Liew Chin Tong
  4. Chen Kah Eng
  5. Wong Shu Qi
  6. Liow Cai Tung
  7. Gan Peck Cheng
  8. Tee Boon Tsong
  9. Sheikh Umar Bagharib Ali
  10. Ng Yak Howe
  11. Yeo Tung Siong
  12. Tan Chen Choon
  13. Lim Eng Guan
  14. Boo Cheng Hau
  15. Pang Hok Liong

Following the election, a subsequent poll among the 15 committee members saw Liew retaining his position as Johor DAP chief, with Teo as his deputy.

In a press conference after the polls, Liew said it was time for Johor DAP to heal and unite.

"If there were flaws in my previous (term), I will do my best now to rectify them.

"We will find ways to resolve our differences amicably and get work done," he added.

Liew said Johor DAP was mature enough not to split after the party polls, and focus on preparing for the 15th general election together. - Mkini

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.