MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku



Friday, January 31, 2020

Mahathir among 10 Bersatu divisional leaders to win uncontested

Bersatu chairperson Dr Mahathir Mohamad is among ten top party leaders who retained their respective division chief’s post, uncontested, in the inaugural party election.
Bersatu Election Committee chairperson Syed Hamid Albar, who announced the matter said Mahathir (above) retained his Langkawi division chief post after no other individual came forward to contest during the divisional poll on Jan 26.
Other leaders who retained their posts are president Muhyiddin Yassin (Pagoh), deputy president Mukhriz Mahathir (Jerlun), secretary-general Marzuki Yahya (Bagan) and Youth chief Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (Muar).
Also Ketereh Bersatu chief Dr Radzi Jidin (Ketereh), Sabah chief Hajiji Noor (Tuaran), Perak chairman Ahmad Faizal Azumu (Tambun), executive secretary Captain (Rtd) Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya (Batu), and Terengganu chairman Razali Idris (Marang).
“Overall, 39 division chiefs won uncontested,” Syed Hamid told a press conference at Bersatu headquarters in Petaling Jaya today.
Syed Hamid said in the Jan 26 election, a total of 11,100 nomination forms were received involving 7,371 contested posts.
However, after thorough screening, only 9,452 nominees were qualified to contest.
He said the list of contesting candidates would be sent to their respective state's election committee tomorrow and is subjected to changes following objection, complaint and withdrawal until Feb 14.
Commenting on the nomination of Dengkil assemblyperson Adhif Shan Abdullah after being suspended as Selangor Youth chief, Syed Hamid said members who are suspended are not allowed to contest.
“He did not submit any nomination form,” he said.
- Bernama

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.