MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku



10 APRIL 2024

Friday, December 31, 2021

133 landslides recorded this monsoon season


The National Disaster Management Agency says 46 landslide locations nationwide are currently being repaired by the public works department. (Bernama pic)

KUALA LUMPUR: Seven landslides were reported by the minerals and geoscience department today, bringing the total number of landslide incidents to 133 during the current northeast monsoon.

The National Disaster Management Agency (Nadma) said 55 landslides occurred in Selangor, followed by Pahang (42), Negeri Sembilan (17), Kuala Lumpur (8), Sarawak (6), Terengganu (3), and one each in Melaka and Sabah.

It also said the public works department’s (JKR) disaster operations room had reported landslide incidents at 52 locations, involving, among others, collapsed slopes and damaged or collapsed bridges.

“Forty-six landslide locations nationwide are currently being repaired by JKR during this monsoon season,” it said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Nadma said that as of yesterday, the housing and local government ministry reported that the Solid Waste Management and Public Cleansing Corporation had completed 80.6% of clean-up work in flood-affected areas in five states.

Besides Kuala Lumpur, the states involved are Pahang, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan and Selangor, with an estimate of over 7,280 tonnes of garbage disposed of. A total of 2,286 workers with 908 machines were involved in the cleaning work.

Meanwhile, following the continuous rain warning forecast until Jan 3, the Malaysian meteorological department (MetMalaysia), together with the irrigation and drainage department (DID), will provide early notifications that are updated from time to time, so that all disaster operations control centres will be ready.

“All state and district control centres are requested to be on alert for the warnings issued by MetMalaysia and DID, and to always be prepared for various possibilities including flash floods, especially in the states of Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Johor, Sabah and Sarawak,” it said. - FMT

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.