Image result for happy new year 2017

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Esszone curfew extended to Dec 13

The curfew in the waters off seven districts in the Eastern Sabah Security Zone which ends today, will be extended till Dec 13, said Sabah police commissioner Abdul Rashid Harun.
The 6pm-6am curfew involves the districts of Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran.

"It is necessary to extend the curfew to ensure Esszone waters are not encroached by terrorists. This is for the protection international researchers conducting research in the waters, tourists visiting popular islands in Sabah and the locals," he said in a statement today.
Abdul Rashid said that based on information received, Abu Sayyaf terrorists and criminal elements from southern Philippines were still trying to conduct kidnappings for ransom and commit transborder crimes.
He added that the police chiefs of the districts concerned had the discretion to give exemptions on the curfew in cases of emergencies or to people who depended on the sea for their livelihood.

No comments:

Post a Comment