MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku



10 APRIL 2024

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Ruckus outside palace as Anwar bodyguards confront media men

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s political saga enters day 7 today as the search for a new political bloc which commands majority support continues. Yesterday, Muhyiddin Yassin looked set to be sworn in after support for the PPBM president poured in from Barisan Nasional and PAS.
This morning, Dr Mahathir Mohamad who broke ranks with Pakatan Harapan did an about-turn. Following a meeting with top leaders of the former ruling coalition, he said he was ready to lead a revived coalition with PH.
Who is the Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s choice? Follow this page as we give live accounts from Istana Negara.
1.45pm: Anwar Ibrahim accompanied by his political secretary Farhash Wafa Salvador Rizal Mubarak leave the palace, but not before two of Anwar’s bodyguards alighted from their vehicle to push away media personnel, causing some to fall to the ground.
Later, arriving back at Eastin Hotel in PJ, Anwar was asked how his palace meeting went. “Alhamdulillah,” he replied.
1.35pm: Anwar Ibrahim enters the palace. He earlier said he wanted to inform the Agong of a change in PH’s choice of PM. The coalition now nominates Dr Mahathir Mohamad.
1.25pm: PKR leader Anwar Ibrahim leaves the Eastin Hotel in Petaling Jaya as heads for Istana Negara.
12.05pm: Amanah president Mohamad Sabu, deputy president Dzulkefly Ahmad and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng leave the palace together after their audience with the King. Dzulkefly said they left “something” with the Agong, believed to be a form signed by the PH leaders before their audience.
11:55am: A group of motorcyclists attempts to block the entrance to Istana Negara before they are dispersed by police.
11.50am: Pakatan Harapan leaders arrive at the palace. Among them are DAP’s Lim Guan Eng and Amanah’s Mujahid Yusof Rawa, Dzulkefly Ahmad and Hatta Ramli. Amanah president Mohamad Sabu is also seen entering the palace again, shortly after leaving at 11.30am.
11.30am: Amanah president Mohamad Sabu leaves the palace after his audience with the King. He declines to comment when asked, only saying, “thank you”.
11.15am: GPS leader Fadillah Yusof is reportedly among those present with Muhyiddin Yassin during the audience with the Agong, fueling speculation that GPS MPs will back the PPBM president.
10.40am: PAS secretary-general Takiyuddin Hassan says the pro-Muhyiddin Yassin bloc will return to Istana Negara for another audience tomorrow.
10.30am: PPBM president Muhyiddin Yassin arrives with PAS’ Abdul Hadi Awang, Umno’s Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and ex-PKR deputy president Azmin Ali.
10.00am: The political bloc in support of Muhyiddin Yassin is on the way to Istana Negara, claiming it has the majority to form the government. Accompanying Muhyiddin are PAS’ Abdul Hadi Awang, Umno’s Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and ex-PKR deputy president Azmin Ali. - FMT

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.