MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Sunday, October 30, 2022

PH fields ex-MACC bigwig in Sanusi’s hometown


Former MACC deputy commissioner Latipah Md Yatim will contest Sik on an Amanah ticket. (Bernama pic)

SUNGAI PETANI: Pakatan Harapan has placed a former top graft buster Latipah Md Yatim to contest the rural Sik parliamentary seat in Kedah.

Latipah was a former deputy commissioner of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission and had served as state director for Sabah and Penang in the past.

Latipah will stand under the Amanah banner in Sik. The seat has traditionally been closely fought between PAS and Barisan Nasional.

Sik is the hometown of state PAS leader Sanusi Md Nor who is Kedah menteri besar.

Ads by 

Another interesting candidate announced was for the Jerai seat, where DAP’s Zulhazmi Shariff will be pitted in the traditional Umno stronghold which was won with a narrow majority of 539 votes by PAS in 2018.

Kedah PH chief Mahfuz Omar of Amanah will once again vie for his Pokok Sena seat, while his fellow party man Johari Abdullah will vie for Baling.

Overall, PKR will field nine candidates as announced yesterday, Amanah four, and DAP one.

The Langkawi PH candidate will be announced tomorrow.

Here is the full list of candidates:

  • Jerlun – PKR – Fadzil Ali
  • Kubang Pasu – PKR- Aizuddin Ariffin
  • Padang Terap – Amanah – Moaz Abdullah
  • Pokok Sena – Amanah – Mahfuz Omar
  • Alor Setar – PKR – Simon Ooi
  • Kuala Kedah – PKR – Dr Azman Ismail
  • Pendang – PKR – Zulkifly Mohamad
  • Jerai – DAP – Zulhazmi Shariff
  • Sik – Amanah – Latipah Md Yatim
  • Merbok – PKR – Azrina Surip
  • Sungai Petani – PKR – Dr Taufiq Johari
  • Baling – Amanah – Johari Abdullah
  • Padang Serai – PKR – M Karupaiya
  • Kulim-Bandar Baharu – PKR – Saifuddin Nasution Ismail
  • Langkawi – to be announced.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.