MALAYSIA Tanah Tumpah Darahku


Saturday, June 30, 2018

Umno polls: 191 divisions start meeting to vote for top posts

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno's 191 divisions from across the country began their meeting to choose a new president and other top-office bearers for the next three-year term on Saturday (June 30).
Party members were seen at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC) as early as 8am to register to vote in the party polls.
Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Gua Musang MP and party veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah and former Youth and Sports Minister Khairy Jamaluddin are among those vying for the presidency post.
Another two relative unknowns - Bandar Tun Razak division committee member Mohamed Iqbal Maricair and Mohd Yusof Musa of the Iskandar Puteri division are also vying for the top post.
.Tan Sri Annuar Musa will be contesting against Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan for the deputy presidency post.
Aside from the party president's post, the deputy and three vice-presidencies and 25 supreme council member posts will be up for grabs.
The party last held its party election in 2013, four years after adopting an electoral college system to widen its voters base.
Under the new system first used in 2013, voters will be casting their ballots at their respective divisions.
The Subang, Kepong and Bukit Bintang Putrajaya divisions are holding their meeting here at PWTC.
While many are eager to know the outcome, the results are expected to be made known late at night or even possibly even tomorrow, depending on the counting process and should there be a re-count due to disputes.- Star

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.